Office of Public Affairs

(315) 312-2265

April 7, 2004


    OSWEGO -- Michelle K. Rea, the executive director of the New York Press Association, will speak at Honors Convocation at 10:30 a.m. Wednesday, April 21, in the Hewitt Union ballroom on campus.

    The annual Honors Convocation is sponsored by Vega, the women's honor society, and takes place during Quest, a daylong symposium dedicated to the scholarly pursuits of faculty, staff and students.

    The ceremony recognizes academic excellence throughout campus. Outstanding students are chosen from each department based on specific criteria. This year, about 100 students will be recognized for their achievements.

    The New York Press Association is the trade association representing more than 750 weekly community, ethnic, business, religious and alternative newspapers, both paid and free, in New York state. NYPA's newspapers have a combined readership of more than 11 million adults each week. As executive director of the association, Rea also heads its advertising subsidiary, the New York Press Service, and its foundation, the New York Press Association Foundation.

    NYPA's foundation provides paid summer internships for college students, fellowships for working members of the press, and on-site and regional training opportunities for newspaper employees.

    Last year, two SUNY Oswego journalism students, Dawn Lawrence and Cortney McMahon, earned NYPA paid summer internships. In 1997, the NYPA Foundation provided seed money to establish the Center for Community Journalism at SUNY Oswego.

    The Foundation also sponsors annual contests and training programs for high school and college newspaper staffs and their advisers.

    Before joining NYPA in 1992, Rea worked for daily newspapers, including eight years as director of promotion and marketing research, and later, seven years as director of advertising and marketing. She spent two years with the American Red Cross as director of resource development and communications.

    Rea is a director of New York State's Committee on Open Government and as a trustee of the Louis Henry Morgan Foundation at Union College.

    She is a graduate of Russell Sage College in Troy.

- END -

News Releases Main Page | Public Affairs Main Page | SUNY Oswego Home