Office of Public Affairs

(315) 312-2265

May 5, 2004


    OSWEGO -- Six SUNY Oswego students recently received Chancellor's Awards for Student Excellence, the highest student honor offered by the SUNY system.

    Oswego students Victoria Baldwin, Renee Bostaph, Erin Halligan, Erin Naughton, Dessima Niles and Daniel Vacco were among the 245 students from around the state honored at an April 19 ceremony at the Empire State Plaza Convention Center in Albany. Honorees, who must be graduating this year, are recognized for outstanding grade-point average and significant contributions to the greater campus community.

    This spring Baldwin, a marketing major from Clifton Park, was named to "Who's Who Among American Colleges and Universities," received a Students in Free Enterprise Service Award and earned Marketing Student of the Year honors. She has been president of the Oswego chapters of SIFE and the American Marketing Association.

    Bostaph is a dual major in psychology and public justice from Cherry Creek. She received the 2003 Helen B. Daly Memorial Research Grant, William G. McGarvey Outstanding Senior Award in psychology and the Outstanding Senior in Public Justice prize. Her research has been exhibited in poster presentations at meetings of the National Academic Advising Association and Eastern Psychological Association.

    Halligan earned the Helen B. Daly Memorial Research Grant for 2004 as well as college's Class of 1937 and William R. Tucker scholarships. The psychology major from Baldwinsville coordinates Oswego's Adopt-a-Grandparent Program and became the only student representative on the First-Year Policy Task Force in spring 2003.

    A dual major in English and theatre from Rome, Naughton directed this year's theatre honors production, "Italian-American Reconciliation." The "Who's Who" honoree has also earned the Erwin Palmer Outstanding Senior in Literary Studies Award and Olive Brannan Spargo Leadership Scholarship while appearing in many campus theatrical productions and musical presentations.

    Niles will earn both an MBA and bachelor's in accounting this month. The Brooklyn resident served as director of finance for the Student Association and earned a Gates Millennium Scholarship, the Hubert B. Smith Award and the American Society of Women Accountants' Central New York Chapter Scholarship Award.

    Vacco, a physics major from Rochester, has succeeded in classrooms and on the baseball diamond, where he is team captain this season. He earned the Outstanding Physics Major Award this year, was named to the Verizon All-District Academic Team for Baseball last year, and is a three-time All-SUNYAC Academic Team member.

    "These students are among the State University's best and brightest," Chancellor Robert L. King said.  "Their commitment not only to academic excellence, but also to serving the wider community indicates they are likely to emerge as New York’s future leaders."

- END -

News Releases Main Page | Public Affairs Main Page | SUNY Oswego Home